Plenary speakers

Debora Berti

University of Florence, Italy

Debora Berti is Full Professor of Physical Chemistry at the Department of Chemistry of the University of Florence.

After a PhD in Physical Chemistry, done at ETH-Zürich and in Florence, she was a post-doc for the Italian Consortium for Colloid and Surface Science and then joined the University of Florence as a lecturer.

Debora’s scientific background is in Physical Chemistry of soft matter. Her current research topics include hybrid nanoparticle/lipid assemblies for responsive drug delivery, interaction of nanostructured assemblies with model membranes, design and application of nanostructured fluids for the conservation of cultural heritage and lately, microfluidic manipulation of natural and synthetic soft matter. She has a well-established track record of her work, with more than 130 authored or co-authored research papers and some chapters contributed in specialized books.

She is co-Editor of the Journal of Colloid and Interface Science, member of the Editorial Board of Advances in Colloid and Interface Science and member of the Ownership Board of Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics. She is member of the Review Panel of the European Partnership for Soft Condensed Matter (ILL-ESRF, Grenoble) and of the Soft Matter panel of HZB-­Berlin. She was the President of the European Colloid and Interface Society (2013-2015). She edited the book Colloidal Foundations of Nanoscience, published by Elsevier in 2014.


Vincent Craig

Australian National University, Australia

Professor Vincent Craig leads the colloids group in the Department of Applied Mathematics at the Australian National University. He completed both his B.Sc. (Honours in Chemistry in 1992) and Ph.D. degrees (jointly in Applied Maths and Chemistry in 1997) at the ANU before postdoctoral positions at UC Davis, United States and the University of Newcastle, Australia.

He was awarded an ARC Postdoctoral fellowship in 1998, an ARC Research Fellowship in 2001 and an ARC Future Fellowship in 2009. His research contributions are in a number of areas including surface force measurement where he has extended the range of materials that can be studied using Atomic Layer Deposition and has made significant contributions to our understanding of the influence of roughness, our understanding of the forces between hydrophobic surfaces and boundary slip. In the field of specific ion effects, he has described and codified the effect of ions on bubble coalescence and demonstrated the existence of the fundamental ion specific series that apply across all solvents. In the field of surfactant adsorption he has revealed that the kinetics of surfactant adsorption can be very slow when aggregates are present on the surface but not in bulk.


Haeshin Lee

Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Korea

Professor Haeshin Lee studied at KAIST where he received his B.S. degree in Biological Sciences between in 1996. He received his Ph.D. degree at Biomedical Engineering Department, Northwestern University in 2007. He started his professional carrier from 2009 at Department of Chemistry, KAIST. He is a currently director of Center for Nature-inspired Technology (CNiT) at KAIST.

Haeshin Lee invented the first material-independent surface chemistry named ‘polydopamine’ in 2007, and this study has been cited more than 4,700 times as of October 2018. His current total citation is ~18,000. He is the founding member of Korea Academy of Science, Young Fellow. He is an Associate Editor in Biomaterials Science (RSC). He was elected as the most highly cited researchers by Clarivate Analytics, Web of Science in 2018.

Some special recognitions and awards are the followings: LG sabbatical fellowship (2016), POSCO Chung-Am young scholar award (2011), KAIST Pioneer Award, (2012), NASA inventor award (2008), Top science stories Discover Magazine (2008), Future young scientist award from the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology (2007), Excellence in Teaching Award, KAIST (2010, 2011), and KAIST Award for Excellence in Collaboration (2013).


Orlin Velev

North Carolina State University, USA

Dr. Orlin Velev is a Frank and Doris Culberson Distinguished Professor at NC State University. He received Ph.D. degree from the University of Sofia, Bulgaria (1996), while also working for one year in Japan. Velev accepted a postdoctoral position and later became research assistant professor at the Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Delaware. In 2001 formed his new research group in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, NC State University, where he was promoted to chaired professor in 2009. Velev has contributed more than 200 publications and has presented more than 250 invited presentations. His awards include, among many others, NSF Career, AIChE Andreas Acrivos Award for Professional Progress and ACS Langmuir Lecturer. Velev has been elected to an ACS Fellow and MRS Fellow. He has established a record of innovative research in the areas of colloids and nanostructures with electrical and photonic functionality, biosensors, microfluidics and nanomanufacturing. Velev has been the first to synthesize "inverse opals" and has pioneered novel nanoparticle materials, Janus and special shape particles, and responsive active materials and microstructures. Technologies based on his research are developed by two Research Triangle Area startup companies.


Tetsu Yonezawa

Hokkaido University, Japan

Professor Tetsu Yonezawa was born in Kobe, Japan, in 1965. He graduated from the Graduate School of Engineering, the University of Tokyo (supervised by Professor Naoki Toshima) and received his Ph.D. degree in 1994. After spending two years as a postdoctoral fellow in the University of Tokyo and Institut sur la Catalese, CNRS, Villeurbanne, France (Lyon), he joined as an assistant professor in Prof. Kunitake’s group at the Faculty of Engineering, Kyushu University. At Fukuoka, he studied on the self-assembly of nanoparticles and its applications. Subsequently, he worked as an associate professor at Nagoya University and the University of Tokyo. Since 2008, he has been working at the Division of Materials Science and Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, Hokkaido University. His actual research interest is focused on metal nanoparticles, micro and nano materials for electronics, printing technology, 1D nanomaterials and technologies on electron microscopy. He received the first carrier award of Colloid and Interface Science Division, Chemical Society of Japan in 2002, the SPSJ Hitachi Chemical Award in 2011 and some other awards. He was selected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC) in 2016. He has published more than 230 papers and 20 books.


Copyright 2018 Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry, The Chemical Society of Japan. All Rights Reserved.